The Procurement Continues

So remember when I said that chances were that I would have to get a contemporary stove because a vintage one would be prohibitively expensive?  Yesterday I proved myself wrong.  Behold, the power of Craigslist:

Is that not adorable?

This is our “new” Monarch stove that we bought from a couple in Anoka.  It’s not in perfect condition, but we have it on good authority that it is in working condition, which is just wonderful.  Now, you may notice that it doesn’t look at all like the ornate stoves that were in my other post, and that’s because it’s more contemporary than that.  The people selling the stove put it at about 1930s, and lo and behold, I found this photo in the MN Historical Society database from 1925:

Woman in a demo kitchen, dated 1925 (Credit: mnhs.org)

Not bad!  I’m going to do a little more research on the Monarch brand, so I will post more about that in the future.  Tomorrow we (hopefully) pick up a clawfoot bathtub and hardware from a gentleman in Pine City (apparently all the cool stuff is north of the Cities).  Wish us luck!

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on March 5, 2011, in History, House, Reuse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Georgia Lauritzen

    I think we had one like that in our house in the 40’s. I remember the position of the oven except we were higher class cuz we had 4 burners but they were gas. Our house was built in the mid 1800’s and is still lived in on Como Blvd. I’ll show it to you sometime.

  2. Yes, from what I gathered from the seller, this type of model would have probably been meant for an apartment or cabin. To be honest, I can’t think of a time Paul or I have ever used all 4 burners on a stove so I suppose it’s not a huge loss. 🙂

    • Georgia Lauritzen

      Hah! I’ll have to give you lessons on how to use every pot and bowl you have. By the way, when are you having a new house shower? I think it’s appropriate don’t you.

      • Absolutely yes on the house warming. However, we need walls and electricity and a bathroom for any sort of a party, so the date is still TBD.

  3. Georgia Lauritzen

    Awwww – haven’t you ever heard of a “to be” warming. Happens well before you’re done. Gives you both further incentive to finish the job. This is a long-term project — you don’t want to lose hope or motivation…. So how about brunch and a tour?

Leave a Reply

