Pants Sacrifice

After three and a half weeks and way too many rain storms later, we have one of two roofs completely finished.  The second surface of the 2nd floor roof only took a week, even despite having to contend with flashing the chimney (which I’ll talk about another day).  Time for some photos!

East roof surface, done in one week, woo!

East roof, opposite angle.

The final step to getting the roof finished was putting the vent on.  The formula for a good roof includes a lot of ventilation, so we ultimately chose to install a continuous ridge vent:

The ridge vent product we bought. I found out about this stuff from a 30 second spot on DIY network while channel surfing one day, and it ended up being just the right product for the roof ventilation.

This involved cutting the decking back at the ridge, then rolling the vent over the newly-cut channel, then covering the whole setup with ridge shingles.  The idea is that air vents up to the peak of the attic ceiling, goes through the cut in the decking, then breathes out the sides of the ridge vent.  Like so:

Air flow through a ridge vent.

Over 60 ridge shingles later, the ridge vent was done!  Here’s what it looks like at the gable end of the roof:

Ridge vent, as seen from the south side of the house.

It shouldn’t be surprising to anyone that there’s been a lot of sacrifice to get to this point.  For one, my dad spent a lot of time helping us get us up and over the steep learning curve of a roofing job.  Paul and I both have spent countless hours nailing, cutting shingles, flashing and so on.

RIP, ripped pants.

But the one sacrifice I did not expect was… my pants.  The first time it happened, I figured it was because they were my main pair of work pants, and they had just worn down over time.  But alas, these would not be the last pants I would sacrifice.  Less than a week later, I managed to do the same thing to a pair of denim capri pants, and a week later, bam, a pair of shorts, gone.  The problem is definitely the way I work on the roof: I sit facing the bottom of the roof with my feet planted almost under me in a modified squat.  That way I have three points of contact with the roof at all times… but I’m well aware that you’d never seen a professional roofer shingle a roof like that.  Anyway, by the the third time I managed to rip the back out of my pants, I was feeling a bit like Spongebob Squarepants (if you have children, you probably already know the episode.  That whole show is a freaking earworm).  Before we start the roof over the kitchen, I either need to re-learn how to stabilize myself while on the roof, or I need to buy a half-dozen more pairs of pants.  Donations are welcome.

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in House, Renovation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Georgia Lauritzen

    You put brackets on either side of the roof not level with the roof but at an appropriate angle and lay a 2 by 8 on the brackets and put your feet on it. I know that from watching our builder when he put the roof on the new house. Hah!

  2. Georgia Lauritzen

    You might have to temporarily put a bracket in the middle (don’t nail it to new shingles).

    • Paul actually did put some jacks on the roof (you can see one of them in the first photo of this post). However, they are a pain to put up, since, as you said, we can’t nail them into the new shingles (so they go underneath). We probably should have used them more, and I probably wouldn’t have ruined so many pants if we’d taken the time to put the jacks in more places. My hope is that because the first floor roof is significantly more shallow, I’ll be able to stand most of the time. The 2nd floor roof was a 7.5/12 pitch, definitely too steep to stand on without a roof jack.

      On an unrelated note, I sprayed the roses with soapy water today. How often should I do that to keep the bugs from eating the leaves?

  3. Georgia Lauritzen

    After every rain. The roses, I mean. Be sure to spray under the leaves, that’s where they hide.

  1. Pingback: Raise the Roof « Twin Cities Farmhouse

Leave a Reply

