Photo of the Week: The Ant and the Grasshopper

Last week we had our first night of temperatures under 50 degrees F.  I brought my sweaters out of storage, and that got me starting to think about winter.  What do two first-time homeowners need to make it through their first winter?  Well, probably a lot of things that I don’t yet know about, but the one thing I do know we need is a snow blower.  Especially with our long walkway and large driveway, shoveling alone just doesn’t make much sense.

I found out pretty quickly shopping online that this type of purchase would be rather significant, and especially in light of recent tree-removing events, that’s just not in the budget.  So it was off to Craigslist to see what I could find.  The thing about shopping on Craigslist, which I would also apply to shopping in general, is that you’ll get the best deals when you shop out-of-season.  So I was able to find a seller rather quickly, and bought this refurbished beauty:

Our "new" snow blower

The seller runs a lawn care/snow removal company (a common set of services in Minnesota), and had recently upgraded his winter equipment.  The snowblower is from around the early 1990s, but was completely refurbished.  It ran a little loud (although we were in an enclosed space when he started it for me), but ultimately looked pretty good, so I bought it for his asking price ($100) and loaded in my car.

As I was putting it in my trunk, the seller commented that it was smart of me to be buying this now, since I would almost definitely pay more for the same product after the snow started falling, if I’d even be able to find one at all on Craigslist.  Then he called me “the ant in The Ant and the Grasshopper.”  If I haven’t mentioned it before, I must say that a good chunk of what makes Craigslist great (other than the free and inexpensive stuff for sale) is the people you meet.

He makes a good point–I definitely need to continue preparing for winter.  Other than shovels and a snow blower, any recommendations about other things we’ll need?

[Editor’s note: Paul and I have both been swamped for the past couple weeks, leading to a shortage in posts lately.  However, I’ve recently finished a large project at my job, so I’ll be upping the post volume in the coming days to catch up on some of the goings-on at the house recently. –Leigh]

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Photo of the Week, Property and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Some sand or salt in case you end up w/ice on the slopey part of
    your driveway? It really is a great idea to plan ahead and get a snowblower! What a deal!

    How’s the roof coming?

    • That’s a great idea, especially since the “slopey part” of our driveway is pretty darn slopey in the winter! Last February when we were closing on the house, I can’t even count how many people had a hard time getting up to the garage because of the grade from the road to the flat part.

      I’m going to post an update on the roof tonight or tomorrow. We’re SO CLOSE.

  1. Pingback: Craigslist Day Trip « Twin Cities Farmhouse

Leave a Reply

