Before & After: Lawn Chairs

To break up the big tasks (roofing, landscaping, painting), I’ve found a couple of small “beautification projects” to do in my spare time.  As such, I bring you a new segment: Before & After!  Kind of an unoriginal name, but it’s straightforward, and that’s the type of gal I am.  Since this is the first one, I’ll start with a simple one: repainting some lawn chairs.

Among so many other things, the previous owner of this house left behind a plethora of assorted plastic lawn chairs.  Most of them were broken to pieces, but a few of them were in okay condition.  They’ve been sitting behind the garage for a few months now, and I finally decided I wanted to use them.  Here’s the state they were in beforehand:

Lawn chairs, before.

A little grimy, but all in all, definitely usable.  The one of the far left had some strange speckling on it, so I decided that for consistency’s sake I’d paint them all.  But wait, I said, you can’t paint plastic!  Well, a tip from Paul’s mom and a trip to the local Menards solved that problem right away.  Apparently there is special spray paint just for plastic stuff– and they must have read my mind, because the picture on the front of the can is of a lawn chair!

There’s a couple different paint brands that have this kind of specialty spray paint, but I chose the Rust-Oleum because it was inexpensive.  Once I got home with a can of the stuff in a forest green color, I sprayed the chairs down with soapy water, let them dry, then started to go to town.  My first observation was that it seemed really easy!  Then I started noticing two things:

  1. My hand was starting to cramp up, and
  2. The spray can was already empty, and I’d only finished one chair!
I ended up buying 3 more cans of spray paint, and finished the chairs up the next day.  Here’s the end product:

Lawn chairs after being painted and put in their new home behind the garage.

Looking pretty good, eh?  I’m not sure I saved any money on this project (you can probably buy new plastic lawn chairs for the price of a can of specialty spray paint), but it was an interesting learning experience.

Speaking of painting, Paul’s mother and I started painting the exterior of the house this morning!  More on that next post.

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on September 18, 2011, in Before and After, Property, Reuse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

