Painting Primer

Delays abound, this past weekend I finally started to get some paint on the exterior of the house!  I think we bought the paint more than a month ago, but what with roofing and… okay, just roofing…I never found the time.  But with the weather turning colder, time is running out for the year.  This is my first time painting a house, and there were a few little complicating factors (surprise!).  Let’s take a look.

This is the front of the house as it started out. I'm not sure if I've mentioned that I don't really like the powder blue color. Oh, I have?

I decided to start small and just work on the front of the house for a few hours.  Paul’s mom generously offered to help, so on Saturday morning we took to the stucco and let our paintbrushes fly.  I talked about it in this post, but as a refresher, Paul and I decided a while back to paint the house a slate gray.  We busted out the 5 gallon bucket of paint and the painter’s tape, and here’s what we accomplished:

A good start.

Paul’s mom was quite proficient at getting the detail work around the scalloped bottom edge, while I was able to bust out the paint roller and get the large middle areas.  Around noon I had to help Paul with the roof, so we opted not to bust out the ladder just yet, hence the top part of the wall still being blue.

My goal for the extent of this project this year is to get the front and the south side of the house painted.  I’m hedging my bets a bit about this one because the weather is not going to continue to cooperate, and I know for a fact that this will be a relatively slow-going project.  Inexperience aside, this stucco is quite… challenging.  While I’m not sure if all stucco is like ours or if this is the exception, the texture on this stuff is pretty intense:

Is texture-y a word? Because that's the one I'd use to describe this.

The nooks and crannies in this stucco design (?) make painting quite a bear.  Luckily, while perusing the Menards painting aisle I found a work-around that seems to get the job done.  Behold, the acoustic ceiling paint roller!

Ooh, feel the paint roller-y goodness!

What the roller looks like filled up with paint

Essentially, all this is is a roller with an exceptionally large nap.  But an acoustic ceiling seems like it would be similar in texture to a stucco exterior, so why wouldn’t it work?  What I love is that it has gills (the professional websites call them segments… boring.) that take up more paint and provide better paint coverage on rough surfaces.  Before I end up sounding too much like an ad for paint rollers (unless a paint roller company wants to pay me for it!), all I’ll say is that this just worked slick.

So, what do you think of the color?  I’m absolutely ecstatic to start to see the blue paint disappear, if slowly.  I hope to get some more stucco painted at the end of the week, so I’ll post some update photos then!

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on September 20, 2011, in House and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

