Paint Schmaint

Over the past week, I’ve been taking advantage of the autumn heat wave and dry snap to do more painting.  The house officially has 5 gallons of paint on it, which ended up equating to about half the stucco.  50% completion ain’t bad!

South side of the house, painting complete!

I bought another five gallon bucket a few days ago, and hope to get at least the back (east side) of the house painted this year still.

Meanwhile, I’ve had another type of painting happening on the side. Yes, call me a painting playa, but don’t hate.  The metal clothesline poles in the backyard are in absolutely terrible shape: rust, pitting, chipping paint, you name it.  I had bought a can of Ace Rust Stop spray paint on a whim a while back, and wanted to test it out.  My dad ground down the paint and rust on two vertical posts, then gave it a few coats.  Turned out adorable!

Color of the new clothesline paint. Yes that is a giant cross on the back of the shed. Don't ask.

The color is called “burgundy satin,” and it actually looks great with the new house colors.  (Sidenote: If you told me a year ago that I would someday be getting excited about coordinating my clothesline to the roof and stucco colors of my house, I would probably slap you.)  Because I had no conception of how much paint these would take, I actually had to order 4 more cans a few days ago.  The store I bought the first can from had gone out of business, and no other Ace Hardware in the area carried them.  If you live in the Twin Cities, Kendall’s Ace Hardware on Payne Ave is the shop that bailed me out and special ordered that color.  (Also, they have a cat in the store, so that boosts their rating even higher in my book.)

Today the temperatures started dipping into the 40s, so this post is probably my last about painting for the rest of 2011.  From all this work, I will say that the saying is true: there’s nothing like a fresh coat of paint!

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on October 18, 2011, in House, Property and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. we drove by the house the other day….looking good!

  2. I heard that next weekend might get into the fifties, so fingers crossed! Maybe Sunday you can do some more painting!

    • I just saw that on the weather, woo! Looks like Thursday through Sunday could be okay for painting… we’ll see if I can get a little more paint on the stucco on at least one of those days.

Leave a Reply

