Attack of the Vampire Pumpkins!

Happy (early) Halloween everyone!

I’m not sure why, but Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  Perhaps it has to do with the fact that my favorite time of year is autumn, and Halloween festivities often incorporate harvest festival-esque activities.  For example, on of my favorites: decorating your house and doorstep with pumpkins and other gourds!  Paul and I have bought a pumpkin from Mother Earth Gardens in Minneapolis every year since 2005 — it’s probably one of our longest-held traditions.  This year was no exception, but this time I had a bit of a twist in mind: vampire pumpkins.

Thanks to the recommendations of my Google Reader, I stumbled upon a great idea to put a spin on the traditional jack-o-lantern.  Much like the blog’s author, I knew I had to try it.  So, I gathered the supplies and gave it a go!

Vampire Pumpkins

Supplies:  Pumpkin, sharp knifes, spoon, plastic vampire fangs from a general retail store (I got mine from Target after striking out a couple other places.  Apparently stores are too busy selling sexy watermelon costumes to stock the basics), straight pins, map pins and scissors.

Don't forget the newspaper! Pumpkin carving gets messy.

First things first, I cut off the top of the pumpkin and scooped out the innards with a spoon.  I made an outline of where I wanted the mouth, then used my slightly smaller knife to cut it into the correct shape.  Normal jack-o-lantern stuff.

Pumpkin gunk. Ew.

Looks pretty good so far!

Next, I took out one of my purple fang sets and cut it in half so the upper jaw was separated from the lower jaw, if you will.  Once in halves, I put a straight pin straight down into the left and right side of the plastic, a bit of a departure from how the FutureGirl Craft blog did it.  My fangs were flimsy and a bit rubbery, so the pins really didn’t seem to need much more contact with the plastic to hold it all together.

Look at those chompers!

Reminds me of my retainers from high school.

My purple fang photo with the pins in it didn't turn out. Different set of fangs, with pins in them.

Finally, the climactic event of putting it all together: teeth on roof/base of mouth, then some pins for eyes.  Drumroll please….The final product!

Spooky!

Not bad!  Pretty badass if I do say myself.  The fangs held in seemingly fine with one pin on each side.  So either way works.

Pumpkin dentures?

As they say in the infomercials, but that’s not all!  Because my inspiration had been mini pumpkins and gourds, and because I could only buy fangs in sets of 8, I also bought a pack of gourds at Target for a horde of vampire pumpkin minions.  Here are the highlights:

Rawr.

Cinematic warty vampire gourd.

With the small guys, you get to pull the innards out by the mouth. It's all very Egyptian mummy style.

Feeling stabby.

Poor little pattypan squash.

Vampire pumpkin show choir. They'll be on the next episode of Glee.

What a happy, horrifying family.

What do you think? I really like the miniature orange gourd with the blue eyes, but they all have their charms.  Overall, it was a fun little Halloween-crafty evening.  I’m always looking for more holiday-inspired activities, so feel free to share your favorite spooky crafts in the comments!

About Leigh

Born and raised in Rochester, MN, Leigh moved to the Twin Cities in 2004 for college. She stayed, and now works for a south metro city in the recycling department. In February of 2011, she and Paul bought a neglected farm house in the city to start our own urban hobby farm.

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Not House-Related and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I really liked seeing the vampires from Columbia … I shared (and explained) the pictures. They do Halloween here so caught it pretty quick even though pumpkin is not common.

  2. These are great! I made one this year too and I think it’s my new favourite way to decorate pumpkins 🙂

  3. Don’t know which I enjoyed more–the text or the photos! Thanks, Leigh, and Happy Hallows to alllllllll of you.
    Ant Kate

  4. I love these little guys – I can’t wait to borrow the idea for next halloween!!

Leave a Reply

